Lisa Ivie Miller

Senior Vice President & Relationship Manager, Partner

Lisa Ivie Miller serves as STMM’s Director of Government Relations and Education. A native of Amarillo, Ms. Miller received her bachelor’s degree from West Texas A&M University and her master’s degree from Sam Houston State University. She worked for the late State Senator Teel Bivins of Amarillo in his district and Capitol offices for seven years before beginning her career in governmental relations for a statewide firefighters’ association and then for the law firm Hance Scarborough, LLP. In 2004, Gov. Rick Perry appointed her to serve as the state’s 7th Firefighters’ Pension Commissioner, a position she held until joining STMM in late 2010. The Commissioner’s office oversees defined benefit pension funds for more than 300 municipalities with combined assets of over $1.4 billion.

Ms. Miller holds an Accredited Investment Fiduciary (AIF®) designation, a Series 65 license, a Scholar Series designation and Certificate of Achievement in Public Plan Policy with the International Foundation of Employee Benefit Plans, and has attended Portfolio and Management Concepts training at the Wharton School.

Professionally, Ms. Miller serves as the Vice President of the Texas Chapter of the National Association of Securities Professionals (NASP), serves as STMM’s liaison to the Texas Association of Public Employee Retirement Systems (TEXPERS) serving on the Legislative Committee and is a member of Texas Wall Street Women. 

In 2011, the Austin Business Journal named Ms. Miller one of the city’s “Women of Influence.” She is a founding board member for the Williams-Pyro Firefighters’ Foundation, and also currently serves on the board for the First Tee of Greater Austin, the Gala Committee for the Texas Chapter of the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, the Executive Leadership Team of the Austin Chapter of the American Heart Association as member of the “Circle of Red” and is a member of “Juliette’s Circle” which supports the Girl Scouts of Central Texas. Ms. Miller also serves on the President's Council for Seton Medical Center at the University of Texas. She previously served as the Chairman of the Board of the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Central and South Texas and as a member of the Greater Austin Crime Commission.